Apple’s first foldable iPhone launches on October 23 with a $1,999 starting price, and the first day of pre-orders already pushed Apple’s own delivery estimates into late January. Verizon is selling it with big-sounding credits, but nearly all of that value arrives as monthly bill credits you earn over three years. This guide untangles who can still get a Duo, how the Verizon math works plan by plan, and the fine print that turns a “deal” into an expensive lock-in.
Quick Answers to What People Are Typing
Search suggestions around this phone keep circling the same ideas: trade-in, deal, promo, pre-order, price, will it sell out. Here are short answers first. The sections after them show the numbers and traps.
Yes. Verizon lists it on both its consumer and business sites, with pre-orders open and sales scheduled for October 23. Having a listing doesn’t guarantee a unit, though; delivery dates depend on supply that Apple has described only indirectly.
Effectively it already has for early delivery. Apple’s online store showed January 25 for all eight color and storage configurations within about thirty minutes of pre-orders opening. Verizon’s own dates can differ, so check the date shown at checkout.
$1,999.99 for 256GB at full price, which is $55.55 a month over 36 months with no promotion. On Unlimited Ultimate with a new line, pre-order pricing lists about $32.22 a month for the phone.
Verizon’s consumer offer is up to $1,000 off with an eligible trade-in plus a new line on a qualifying plan. Businesses see up to $1,200. In both cases the value comes as monthly credits across 36 months, not as a discount at the register.
In every offer we read, the largest credits are tied to adding a new line. We didn’t find a published description of an equivalent upgrade deal, so call Verizon and ask for your exact line’s eligibility in writing.
The credits stop and you owe the rest of the phone at its undiscounted installment rate. In our worked example, leaving at month 18 costs about $420 more than staying the whole term.
For someone who wants a tablet-sized screen in a pocket and keeps phones for years, possibly. It’s eSIM-only, uses Touch ID, and an inner-screen repair costs $999 without AppleCare+. If you upgrade every year, the 36-month lock-in works against you.
For this phone, it’s the most defensible add-on we’ve seen. The reported inner-display repair is $999 without coverage and $99 with it. AppleCare+ with Theft and Loss is listed at $19.99 a month, $199.99 a year, or $399 once.
Yes, but the Duo has no physical SIM slot, so activation is eSIM only. You’d forgo the bill-credit deals, and stock at Apple and resellers is also tight.
If You Want One This Year: What Actually Works
The calendar matters more than the price right now. Pre-orders opened at 5 a.m. Pacific on Friday, October 16. People who ordered in the first minutes are expected on launch day. After that, the line moves in months.
What the shipping dates tell you
We checked the reporting from the first day of orders. By roughly 5:30 a.m. Pacific on October 16, Apple’s U.S. store listed January 25 for both colors and all four storage sizes, and the Christmas window closed for Apple’s own online orders. Reporting attributes the tightness to limited production, with talk of manufacturing problems and low yields. Apple turned off pickup slots that had briefly appeared and said to check back Saturday, October 24. Some Apple Stores may have walk-in units on launch day, but reporting expects stock to be very tight, and some retail staff were reportedly told to discourage walk-ins without a reservation.
Verizon is a separate pipeline from Apple. Its business page showed a December 4 estimate while Apple’s store said late January. That difference is real information: carriers sometimes hold allocations that move on a different schedule. It’s also unreliable information, because an estimate on a pre-order page is a forecast, not a promise. Take a screenshot of the date and the offer terms at the moment you order.
Five moves that improve your odds
- Order from the channel that shows the earliest date, then keep checking the others. Verizon, Apple, and resellers such as Best Buy each hold their own supply. If two of them show different dates, place the earlier order and cancel the other if your terms allow it.
- Choose the less popular configuration only if you’d truly accept it. Reports of the early backlog covered every color and size, so switching color rarely moves the date. Don’t trade down storage in hope of a faster ship; you can’t add storage to a phone later.
- Check the cancellation and credit rules before you pay anything. Ask whether the promotional credits survive a change of configuration, and whether a trade-in kit you’ve already received expires while you wait.
- Visit a Verizon store on launch day, but call first. A store that says “we have two in stock” is more useful than the website. Ask for the exact configuration, and ask if the promotion applies to in-store stock the same way.
- Be wary of resale listings. Headlines from launch week mention scalpers moving in on the shortage. Paying a premium over $1,999 for a phone Apple will ship to you in a few weeks rarely makes sense, and a used unit with a wrong activation state can cost you more than it saves.
Trade-in programs usually ask you to ship the old device within a window after the order. With a delivery date near the end of January, a trade-in clock could run out before the Duo arrives. If your current phone is your only phone, ask Verizon in which order the steps happen. Trade in last, not first, and keep the old phone active until the eSIM transfer finishes on the new one.
The Verizon Offers, Side by Side
Different pages describe slightly different deals, partly because consumer and business offers are separate and partly because the pre-order promotions were changing during the week. We compared three sources: Verizon’s business listing, a deal roundup from Android Authority, and a pricing table from WhistleOut last updated October 18. Where they disagree, the table says so.
| Offer | Who qualifies | What you get | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-order credit, no trade-in | New line on Unlimited Ultimate | Up to $840 off | 36 monthly credits; line must stay active |
| Trade-in credit | Eligible Apple, Google, Motorola, or Samsung phone plus a new line on a qualifying plan | Up to $1,000 off | Credits, not cash; phone value condition rules apply |
| Apple Watch Series 12 or iPad A16 bundle | 256GB Duo on a qualifying plan; each extra device needs its own line | Free device, credits shown as roughly $600 value in one report | Needs its own qualifying line and a 36-month plan |
| Simplicity bundle | 256GB Duo on the Simplicity plan | About $71.66 a month, $0 due today | 48-month term; slower to upgrade |
| Business device promo | New line on My Biz Plan with $20 monthly add-on spend, or Business Unlimited | $649.99 off, or up to $1,200 with trade-in | Business Markets and Enterprise accounts only |
| Welcome Unlimited or Unlimited Plus | Anyone | No promotion listed | $55.55 a month for the phone, $40 due today |
Two examples we noticed. WhistleOut’s pricing table lists Unlimited Ultimate at $95 a month in its totals, while a deal write-up quotes $90 for one line. And the Unlimited Plus up-front price for outright purchase appears as both $1,999.99 and $2,039.99 on the same page. Prices on carrier pages also change with Auto Pay, paperless billing, and the number of lines. Treat every figure here as a planning estimate until you see your own checkout screen, then screenshot it.
The plan is part of the deal, not a side detail
When we lined up the pre-order tables, the biggest surprise was how little a lower-priced plan gets you on this phone. The promotions are attached to Unlimited Ultimate for consumers. Pick Welcome Unlimited and you pay the full $55.55 a month for the phone with no credit, although the plan itself is cheaper. That choice is the single largest swing in the whole purchase, and it’s easy to make accidentally because the plan comparison happens on a different screen from the phone.
The Real Cost Math, Without the Marketing
Monthly numbers make a phone look cheaper than it is. Multiply by the term and add the plan, and the ranking changes. These figures come from the pre-order pricing table updated October 18 and the Verizon business page. They’re arithmetic on published numbers, not quotes, and taxes and fees are extra.
Now add the plan, because the plan is the real bill
A phone promotion looks smaller once you count what you pay for service across the same period. We multiplied each monthly total from the pre-order table by its term length.
| Route | Monthly total | Term | Total over term | Due today |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simplicity (no promo) | $71.66 | 48 months | ~$3,440 | $0 |
| Welcome Unlimited | $120.55 | 36 months | ~$4,340 | $40 |
| Unlimited Ultimate, new line | $127.22 | 36 months | ~$4,580 | $40 |
| Unlimited Plus | $135.55 | 36 months | ~$4,880 | $40 |
Here’s the part that most promo headlines skip. Over 36 months, a single line on Unlimited Ultimate with the full pre-order credit costs about $240 more in total than the same phone on Welcome Unlimited with no promotion. Add a $1,000 trade-in credit and the gap narrows to roughly $80. Ultimate does include more perks, and some people want them, but the “free money” framing hides that the credit is largely a refund for choosing the pricier plan. If you were already going to buy Ultimate, the deal is real. If you weren’t, price the two paths side by side before you decide.
The credit cliff
Credits are a promise that depends on your future behavior. If you leave, they stop, and the remaining balance becomes due at the undiscounted rate. The graphic uses the Ultimate new-line example: a $1,999.99 phone, credits taking the monthly payment to $32.22.
Trade-In Rules, Credit Traps, and Getting Locked In
The trade-in is where “up to” does the most work. Every offer we read says up to $1,000 for consumers and up to $1,200 for business buyers, and every one delivers the value as bill credits spread across 36 months. Understanding that structure is worth more than shopping for a better headline number.
What qualifies, as far as the sources say
The consumer offer names Apple, Google, Motorola, and Samsung phones as eligible trade-ins and requires adding a new line on a qualifying myPlan. A separate roundup for the iPhone 18 Pro says the trade-in device must have been active on your account for at least 60 days. We didn’t find a Duo-specific confirmation of that 60-day rule or a published value for each model, so ask Verizon to quote your exact phone and tell you whether the maximum applies to it. The top figure usually belongs to recent, undamaged flagships. An older mid-range phone often lands well below it.
How the credit works month to month
The credits don’t reduce the price at checkout. Instead the phone is financed at full price, and each month your bill shows a credit that offsets part of the installment. That means the first-month bill can look closer to the full number than you expect, particularly if the credit starts a cycle or two after activation. It also means the savings are conditional. If the line is closed, moved to a prepaid plan, or ported out, the credits stop. The WhistleOut deal write-up says plainly that you must keep the line active for the entire term.
Why locking matters, and what we found about unlocking
A financed phone is locked to Verizon until it’s paid off, and the rules changed this year. Reporting from late January described Verizon’s postpaid policy as locking a phone until it is paid in full, after the FCC granted a waiver of an older rule that required unlocking after 60 days. Two details matter. One report says a phone unlocks automatically once the balance is cleared, and another says paying by certain methods, such as online or in the app, can add a 35-day wait, while paying at a Verizon store with a chip or contactless card does not. Those two descriptions don’t fully agree, so check Verizon’s current device-locking page before you plan to pay off early. For comparison, the same reporting says AT&T requires 60 days on its network and T-Mobile requires 40.
Credit deals make sense when you’re confident about staying. Think of them as a loyalty contract that Verizon doesn’t call a contract. People who travel for work abroad, who are on the fence about their carrier, or who upgrade yearly should price the “pay full price in installments, no promo” route against the credit route. The full-price path costs more per month but lets you leave when the balance is cleared, with no forfeited credits.
Setting up an eSIM-only phone without losing service
The Duo has no physical SIM tray; it supports two active eSIMs at once. That’s a fine design, and it also adds a step to every switch. When we walked through the activation sequence for an eSIM-only handset, the pattern that avoids trouble was the same each time.
- Back up the old phone first. Do a full cloud or computer backup before anything else, and confirm it finished.
- Keep the old phone powered and on Wi-Fi. The eSIM transfer needs it. Don’t trade it in, wipe it, or ship it until the new phone shows signal and you’ve made a test call.
- Use Verizon’s own transfer option. Starting the transfer from the account or the app is cleaner than scanning a code from a support agent, and it keeps the number tied to the right line.
- Test calls, texts, and data on cellular only. Turn Wi-Fi off for the test. Wi-Fi can hide an unfinished activation.
- Travel plan: load the second eSIM before you leave. The Duo can hold two active eSIMs, so a local or travel plan can sit beside your Verizon line. Set it up at home, where support is easy.
Getting your old phone ready so the credit isn’t denied
Trade-in value is the one part of the deal you can influence directly, and the reasons credits get reduced are usually boring. Before you send anything, work down this short list. Turn off Find My iPhone, or the Google and Samsung account locks on other brands, because a phone still tied to your account is the most common reason a trade-in is rejected or downgraded. Sign out of your Apple, Google, or Samsung account, then erase the phone only after your backup is verified and the new phone is working. Remove any case or screen protector, and take the SIM or eSIM profile off the old device once the number has moved. Photograph the phone from every side before you hand it over, including the screen powered on, so you have evidence of its condition if the quoted value changes later.
Then deal with the timing problem that this launch makes worse. If the Duo ships in late January, a trade-in window measured in weeks may not fit. Ask two direct questions: how many days you have to send the old phone after the new one is activated, and what the value is if you miss the deadline. A representative who says “it should be fine” hasn’t answered either question. Ask them to note the answer on your account.
Adding lines: why the second phone is where the math gets interesting
Households that add more than one line face a different calculation. Each new line can carry its own promotional credit on its own 36-month clock, which makes the whole package larger and also stickier. If one person in the family leaves the plan, the credits on their line stop, and the others usually keep theirs, but plan pricing for the remaining lines may change. Write down which lines carry which credits and when each credit schedule ends, because a spreadsheet kept at home is worth more than the memory of a sales call. If you’re switching carriers as a household, line up the cancellation dates so nobody lands in a gap with a locked phone and no service.
A related detail concerns the free Apple Watch or iPad. Each one rides on its own line with its own payment plan, so it adds a monthly line charge as well as the device payment. Before you accept it, add the monthly cost of the extra line over 36 months and compare that to the retail price of the device. For some people the free device is a real gift. For others, a cheaper watch bought outright would have cost less than three years of an unneeded line.
Protection, Repairs, and the Fold Nobody Wants to Crack
A foldable adds a repair line that regular iPhones don’t have: a flexible inner display. Reported repair prices make the case for coverage more strongly than usual.
| Repair | Without AppleCare+ | With AppleCare+ |
|---|---|---|
| Inner (folding) display | $999 | $99 |
| Outer display | $379 | Not stated |
| Outer display and back glass | $509 | Not stated |
| Battery | $229 | Free |
| Rear camera | $229 | Not stated |
| Cover layer on the fold | $49 | $19 |
Run the math on the one-time $399 AppleCare+ plan. A single inner-screen failure uncovered costs $999. With coverage the same repair is $99, which saves $900 and pays for the plan more than twice over. Even if you never break the screen, the free battery replacement is worth $229. We didn’t find hinge repair pricing in the reporting, so ask a store directly what the plan says about hinge damage, because the hinge is the part buyers most need to ask about.
Verizon’s business checkout shows device protection set to “decline” by default and gives 30 days after activation to enroll, so you won’t be forced to decide at the register. Compare Verizon’s own protection plan against AppleCare+ on three points: the price per month, the deductible for an inner-screen repair, and whether repairs happen at Apple or at a third-party center. Apple’s coverage is the cleaner option for a fold because the parts and technicians are Apple’s. Whichever you pick, write down the enrollment deadline when you activate, since coverage windows are short.
The phone itself, in numbers that actually matter
Specs matter less than trade-offs here, so we picked out the ones that change daily life or the buying decision. The chip is Apple’s A20 Pro. The inner screen is 7.6 inches and the outer is 5.4 inches, both OLED at up to 120Hz. The frame is titanium, the rating is IP68, and the phone weighs about 254 grams, noticeably heavier than a typical slab phone. Authentication is Touch ID in the side button, not Face ID. The main and ultra-wide cameras are both 48 megapixels, and 2x zoom comes from the main camera rather than a dedicated telephoto. Apple claims up to 24 hours of typical battery use and 25W wireless charging on MagSafe and Qi2.
| Feature | iPhone Duo | Why it matters to a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $1,999 (256GB) | 2TB reaches $3,199 |
| Colors | Star White, Night Sky | Only two choices, both reportedly backordered |
| SIM | eSIM only, two active | No tray; activation is digital |
| Unlock method | Touch ID | No Face ID, even with the screen open |
| Apple Pencil | Support promised later this year | Don’t buy for Pencil use on day one |
| Charging | USB-C, MagSafe, Qi2 | Adapter not included |
Who Should Buy One, Who Should Wait
The Duo is a statement purchase at a price that rivals a laptop. These situations cover most of the people we expect to be asking.
This is the buyer the Verizon deal was built for. If your plan is already the top tier, the pre-order credit and a trade-in turn a $2,000 phone into roughly $1,000 to $1,160 over the term, and the lock-in costs you nothing because you were staying anyway. Pair it with AppleCare+ and a case, and the real out-of-pocket for a three-year foldable lands near $1,500 to $1,650 including a $399 AppleCare+ plan and a $79 case, ahead of the plan itself.
Run the 36-month total first. In the figures we compared, Ultimate with the full pre-order credit still cost about $240 more than Welcome Unlimited at full phone price, and about $80 more with a $1,000 trade-in. If you value the Ultimate perks, go ahead. If the plan upgrade exists only to unlock a credit, you’re paying a premium to receive a refund.
Treat the Duo as a gift you’ll promise later, not a package under the tree. Apple’s store says January 25, and Verizon’s dates may be sooner or later. The practical plan is to order now to hold a place, place nothing you can’t cancel, and keep a fallback gift ready. A launch-day store visit might get lucky but shouldn’t be a plan.
The deal requires a new line, which is generally what a port-in is. Before you move, confirm what your old carrier requires to release your current phone and number, since both reporting sources describe unlock waits of 40 to 60 days at those carriers after balances are cleared. If you still owe on your current phone, ask Verizon exactly how much of that balance the offer covers and in what form. A promise of “we’ll pay it off” can mean prepaid cards or bill credits, which arrive on a different timeline.
Yearly upgraders keep hitting the credit cliff, and physical SIM swappers lose their favorite travel trick. If either describes you, an iPhone 18 Pro Max, listed from about $1,299 in one deal roundup, is a better fit. It has a conventional form and doesn’t carry the first-generation foldable risks.
The business listing quotes $1,999.99 retail, $55.55 a month over 36 months at 0% APR, and a promotional $37.50 a month with $649.99 off a new line. A trade-in with a new line on My Biz Plan with $20 in monthly add-on spending can reach $1,200 off. Business pages also carry a different date estimate, December 4 when we looked, and the business route can be quicker or slower than the consumer one. Ask your account rep for the allocation date, not the website estimate.
Questions nobody puts on the deal page
“Can I add the watch or iPad deal without a new line?” The offer describes each extra device as needing a qualifying line and a 36-month plan, so no. Because the value arrives as credits, expect it to stop if you cancel the added line.
“Do I need to buy 256GB to get the bundle?” The bundle was described for the 256GB model. If you want 512GB, ask if the same credit applies and what happens to the extra storage cost, which is $200 more at Apple’s pricing.
“What if my pre-order shows a later date than a friend’s?” It usually means a different channel or order time. It doesn’t mean something is wrong with your order, and it also doesn’t mean you can fix it by calling twice.
“Is there anything good about waiting?” Yes. Production issues tend to ease, early promotions get replaced, and the first software updates for a new hardware category arrive within weeks. Waiting a few months costs you the novelty and might save you a bug.
“Is the Apple Pencil a reason to buy now?” No. Support is described as arriving later this year, so you’d be paying for a feature you can’t yet use.
Where to Buy: Verizon, Apple, or a Reseller
Three channels sell the same hardware, but they don’t sell the same deal. The right choice depends on whether you want bill credits, flexibility, or simply the earliest delivery. We compared what each channel’s published pages and reporting allow.
| Channel | Best for | Money angle | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Verizon | Staying on Verizon, or adding a line, for the biggest credits | Up to $840 off, or $1,000 with trade-in, as 36 credits | Lock-in, plan requirement, credits that stop if you leave |
| Apple | Buying outright and choosing any carrier | Full list price; no carrier credits | Online delivery estimate of January 25; pickup slots paused |
| Reseller such as Best Buy | Possible in-store stock or a different allocation | Varies; often carrier-linked deals | Stock can be thin; confirm the activation terms in writing |
One practical angle that most buyers miss is that you can split the decisions. You might buy the Duo from Apple to get a faster or more certain delivery slot, then activate it on Verizon with an eSIM. You’d give up the bill credits, which is the cost of the flexibility, and you’d own the phone outright from day one. For someone who is nervous about a three-year lock-in, that trade is easier to defend than it first looks. Do the arithmetic from the earlier section, then ask yourself whether $840 to $1,000 of credits is worth a three-year commitment to one carrier.
Four expensive habits to skip
Choosing the phone first and the plan second. The plan determines the credit. Decide on the plan, price the total, then pick storage.
Paying for more storage because it feels safe. Each step up costs $200 to $600 at Apple’s pricing, from $2,199 for 512GB to $3,199 for 2TB. Most people store photos in the cloud. If you rarely hit your current phone’s limit, 256GB goes a long way.
Treating the case as an afterthought. A foldable’s fold is the point of failure, and a case reportedly priced around $79 is small money next to a $999 uncovered repair. Check how any case you buy handles the hinge before you commit.
Skipping the written confirmation. If a representative says the credits survive a plan change, or that your trade-in will be valued at the top rate, ask for it in an email or a chat transcript. Promotions at launch are complicated, and screenshots settle arguments that memories can’t.
Contacts and Links to Keep Handy
Save this block before you place an order. The numbers are the standard published support lines; confirm them on each company’s site.
Where to order or ask
Key numbers at a glance
Before you click confirm, screenshot the offer terms, the ship date, and the monthly credit schedule. Ask whether the 36-month credits survive a plan change. Decide on AppleCare+ the same day. Back up your current phone. And keep the old phone active until the eSIM transfer works on the new one. Those five steps cover the most common ways a pre-order goes wrong.
This guide is informational and is not financial or legal advice. Carrier offers, prices, delivery estimates, and plan rules change often and may differ by account, state, and channel. Figures reflect Apple’s announcement as reported by the press, Verizon’s published offer pages, WhistleOut pricing updated October 18, 2026, and other reporting available as of October 19, 2026. Where sources disagreed, we say so. Calculations marked as illustrative are our own arithmetic on published numbers and exclude taxes and fees. Always confirm the final price, credits, and terms at checkout. This page is independent and is not affiliated with Apple or Verizon.
Key sources: apple.com Β· Verizon.com (consumer and business pages) Β· MacRumors Β· 9to5Mac Β· Android Authority Β· WhistleOut Β· Notebookcheck Β· Droid Life Β· PhoneArena.